Delaware Weighs Potential Adult Use Cannabis Boom Against Some Medical Operators' Wishes

If passed, the Delaware Marijuana Control Act would allow anyone 21 years old and older to possess up to one ounce of cannabis for personal use.

If passed, the Delaware Marijuana Control Act (House Bill 150), would allow anyone 21 years old and older to possess up to one ounce of cannabis (including a maximum of 5 grams for concentrates) for personal use. Some medical producers in the state, however, claim that adult-use expansion would decimate their businesses. “I fear this introduction of this legislation will undercut the very program that these patients rely on,” Columbia Care Retail Director Sharice Ward told Delaware’s The News Journal. “How will the state guarantee products for our cancer and pediatric patients once the recreational market is established?”

June 2021
Explore the June 2021 Issue

Check out more from this issue and find you next story to read.

Share This Content