AAFCO and NIHC to Host ‘Why Isn’t Hemp in Animal Feed’ Webinar
Adobe Stock By isavira

AAFCO and NIHC to Host ‘Why Isn’t Hemp in Animal Feed’ Webinar

Industry professionals will discuss the challenges and steps needed to gain approval for hemp as an animal feed ingredient.

August 1, 2022

The Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) and the National Industrial Hemp Council (NIHC) are hosting a free webinar at 11 a.m. CT Aug. 9 to address the challenges and steps needed to gain approval for hemp as an animal feed ingredient.

The webinar, titled “Why Isn’t Hemp in Animal Feed? A Discussion on Overcoming Challenges & Gaining Approval,” will feature 15 industry professionals from the “feed manufacturing, hemp production, scientific research and regulatory oversight” industries who will cover the following topics: scientific research and data; ingredients review and approval; and interests and concerns everyone is facing, according to the webinar description.

According to Pet Food Processing, the three-part panel discussion will take place as follows: 

  • “Scientific Research and Data” will be held from 11:15 a.m. to 12:20 p.m. CT/12:15 to 1:20 p.m. ET
  • “Ingredient Review and Approval” will be held from 12:30 to 1:35 p.m. CT/1:30 to 2:35 p.m. ET
  • “Interests and Concerns Everyone is Facing” will be held from 1:45 to 2:50 p.m. CT/2:45 to 3:50 p.m. ET

The goal of the webinar is to “connect with industry peers and share meaningful dialog around overcoming the challenges and moving forward together so hemp can become a safe and beneficial feed ingredient,” the webinar description states.

Register for the webinar here.